11 candidates vie for Namibia's presidency


- newsghana.com.gh | 3 months ago

Eleven political party candidates will vie for the forthcoming Namibian presidential election slated for November 27, while 15 political parties have successfully filed nominations for parliamentary candidates, the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) announced on Friday.

ECN chairperson Advocate Notemba Tjipueja said the eleven will include incumbent South West Africa People’s Organisation (SWAPO) President Hage Geingob, Landless People’s Movement President Bernadus Swartbooi, Namibia Economic Freedom Fighters President, Epafras Mukwiilongo, Popular Democratic Movement President McHenry Venaani, Tangeni Iiyambo of South West Africa National Union, Independent Candidate Panduleni Itula, Rally for Democracy and Progress President Mike Kavekotora, All People’ Party President Ignatius Shixwameni among others light weights. ECN added that the full list of nominations for parliamentary representation candidates who filed their nominations will be formally gazetted in accordance of the Namibian law.

“We have received 11 nominations from aspiring political parties who want to contest in the forthcoming presidential election,” said Tjipueja.

read full story @newsghana.com.gh