ANC gets its way with SABC board

- | 6 months ago

Parliament’s portfolio committee on communications has failed to reach consensus on the eight candidates it wants to fill the vacancies on the embattled SABC board.

The ANC used their majority on Thursday to sign off on its preferred eight names, getting buy in on only four of the names from the DA and one from the EFF. The eight names given the green light by the ANC are: Mary Papayya, Jasmina Patel, Dr Marcia Socikwa, Mamodupi Mohlala-Mulaudzi, Bernedette Muthien, Advocate Benjamin Lekalakala, Professor Saths Cooper and David Maimela.

The DA were willing to support Papayya, Socikwa, Mohlala-Mulaudzi and Patel.

read full story