EFF sit in parliamentary protest during 'Die Stem', English part of the SA anthem


- citizen.co.za | 7 months ago

The Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) became well-known for their theatrics during their first few years in parliament, and look set to continue the tradition in the sixth parliament, which convened for the first time on Wednesday.

This included dancing into parliament, party leader Julius Malema doing the vosho as he was called to be sworn in and the party refusing to stay standing for the Afrikaans and English parts of the South African national anthem. President Cyril Ramaphosa – who will be an ordinary MP for the first few hours of the sixth parliament before a vote will almost certainly see the ANC majority confirm his title as president – was the first to be sworn in, alongside Lindiwe Sisulu, Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, Gwede Mantashe, Zweli Mkhize, Pravin Gordhan, and Bheki Cele.

Notably, David Mabuza, who previously said rumours that he would not be returning as deputy president were unfounded, requested not to be sworn in on Wednesday, as did former environmental affairs minister Nomvula Mokonyane.

read full story @citizen.co.za