Eight political parties to contest by elections in three provinces


- citizen.co.za | 6 months ago

Six municipal by-elections will be held in KwaZulu-Natal, Western Cape, and Mpumalanga on Wednesday.

The by-elections will be contested by 22 candidates from eight political parties and one independent candidate, the Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC) said. In Mpumalanga’s Bushbuckridge Municipality, two by-elections will be held for wards 11 and 14.

The two African National Congress (ANC) ward seats became vacant after the councillors resigned.

read full story @citizen.co.za