MDC @20: The journey continues

- | 6 months ago

One of the key distinguishing factors between the two parties is that from the time it was formed to pursue the liberation struggle, Zanu PF managed to assemble a large pool of thinkers to help articulate its cause on the local and global political arena.

But the MDC has relied largely on the charisma and popular appeal of its leadership, from its founding president, the late Morgan Tsvangirai, to the current leader Nelson Chamisa. Ndabaningi Sithole, Zanu’s founding president, Herbert Chitepo, Leopold Takawira, Edson Zvobgo, Edison Sithole, Robert Mugabe, Dzingai Mutumbuka, Rugare Gumbo, Bernard Chidzero and Fay Chung were part of the stellar cast of outstanding political and intellectual actors Zanu had within its ranks, in the 17 years leading to independence in 1980.

It is difficult to say the same of the present-day MDC.

read full story