NCOP MPs sworn in, including former political prisoner Kenny Motsamai

- | 7 months ago

The ANC's candidates for positions in the National Council of Provinces were elected unopposed on Thursday, meaning that Amos Masondo is the chairperson of this house of Parliament.

His deputy is former Northern Cape premier Sylvia Lucas, while Seiso Mohai is the NCOP's chief whip. Their election took place after the swearing in of the 90 permanent delegates to the NCOP.

Before the swearing in, Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng, who is constitutionally mandated to preside over these proceedings, said one of the members to be sworn in had been convicted of a crime and was currently on parole.

read full story