No shortlist for SABC board as MPs squabble

- | 4 months ago

What should have been a meeting of the oversight committee on communications to shortlist candidates for the South African Broadcasting Corporation's board on Tuesday degenerated into a heated standoff between MPs about whether they were rushing the process.

December saw the resignation of four members of the SABC board, namely former City Press editor Mathatha Tsedu, Krish Naidoo, Khanyisile Kweyama and John Mattison. This left the board unable to form a quorum.

The committee was meant to announce a shortlist of 24 candidates who will be interviewed to fill eight vacancies at the board.

read full story