SABC board hopefuls take the hot seat

- | 2 months ago

Parliament’s portfolio committee on communications will start the process of filling eight vacancies on the South African Broadcasting Corporation’s board on Tuesday, when the committee interviews 12 of its 24 shortlisted candidates.

Four board members – Mathatha Tsedu, Krish Naidoo, John Mattison and Khanyisile Kweyama – resigned from the board in December last year.Subscribe to Fin24’s newsletter here The resignations came after a brief and rocky stint at the public service broadcaster for the four former board members, where they told MPs that the SABC did not know how it would pay salaries beyond April.

The committee drafted a shortlist of 24 candidates last week, from an initial pool of over 300.The shortlist includes former SABC CEO Lulama Mokhobo, media veteran and a member of the South African National Editors Forum council, Mary Papayya, and former director general at the Department of Telecommunications and Postal Services, Gift Buthelezi, among others.

 The committee initially wanted to draft a shortlist of candidates last week Tuesday, but this was put on hold after EFF MP Mbuyiseni Ndlozi suggested conducting interviews after elections, as conducting them before the polls would result in an ill-considered, rushed job.READ: On board with SABC: who's who on the winding list of candidatesDemocratic Alliance MP Phumzile van Damme took exception to the suggestion, saying that to leave the SABC board with vacant positions for much longer would leave the organisation weaker and ill-equipped to recover.

The shortlist was published on Thursday and the committee elected to hold the interviews this week.

read full story