Zondo commission reads municipalities riot act


- sowetanlive.co.za | 6 months ago

The commission also asked for a detailed list of payments made from 2008 to last year, all internal audit reports, the list of matters reported to the municipality's fraud hotline and top 20 suppliers to the municipality by value per year.

The municipalities which have not responded to the commission are Dr JS Mokora in Siyabuswa, Thembisile Hani in Balfour, Lekwa, Mkhondo, Msukalikwa, Pixley Ka Isaka Seme, Chief Albert Luthuli, Gert Sibande district, Steve Tshwete, Victor Khanye, Dipaliseng and Thaba Chwue local municipality. Sowetan has also seen letters from Msibi's office ordering the municipalities to respond to the commission.

The EFF in Mpumalanga has welcomed the commission's actions: "The EFF in Mpumalanga welcome the decision of the the Zondo commission to summon 12 Mpumalanga municipalities which are alleged to be implicated in state capture, fraud and corruption," said the EFF's provincial chairperson Collen Sedibe.

read full story @sowetanlive.co.za